Support & Training
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Prevent TouchBistro from being Deleted from your iPad

One of the most serious preventable issues on the iPad is the deletion of the TouchBistro application from the iPad. This is of particular concern for the Standard Version as all your data is stored on the iPad. On the Pro Version, all the restaurant data is stored on the Mac Mini server so the restaurant can be re-loaded back onto the iPad from the server.

To AVOID the accidental deletion of the TouchBistro application, we suggest setting delete restrictions on the iPad. We suggest you do this for Pro Version as well. Although backed up, you might not want to waste time doing a restore during opening hours.

To set the restrictions on iPads running iOS 12

1. Tap Settings.

2. In the Screen Time settings on your iPad, tap Turn On Screen Time.

3. In The Screen Time window that appears, tap Continue.

4. In the Is This iPad for Yourself or Your Child? window, tap This is My iPad.

5. Tap Content & Privacy Restrictions.

6. Slide Content & Privacy Restrictions to the on (green) position.

7. Tap iTunes and App Store Purchases.

8. Tap Deleting Apps

8. Select Don’t Allow

9. Tap Back to complete this process. This will prevent TouchBistro (as well as any other installed app) from being deleted. 

If required, you may also access the Allowed Apps, and Content Restrictions sections to prevent particular apps and content from being accessed on the iPad.

Bear in mind that if you disable the Mail app, you will no longer be able to send server reads and reports via email. If you disable Safari, then Cloud reporting and Remote Menu Mangement will no longer be accessible on this iPad.

To set the restrictions on iPads running iOS 11

1. Tap Settings.

2. In the General settings on your iPad, tap Restrictions.

3. Tap Enable Restrictions and select a passcode.

4. Slide Deleting Apps to the off (non-green) position. This will prevent TouchBistro as well as any other installed app from being deleted unless the passcode is supplied (note this passcode down as you won’t be able to retrieve it).

5. Use the sliders to adjust the other restrictions as necessary. For example, if you don’t want your staff to be able to access Safari or the camera, slide those to the off position.

6. Swipe up from the bottom of the screen, or tap the Home button, to return to your home screen. Your restrictions will be set.

Customer Support

Our help site offers helpful guides, videos, step-by-step tutorials, live workshops, and more, for all TouchBistro products. If you can't find what you're looking for, our customer support team is available to you any time, day or night. And yes, even holidays and weekends!

Call us today

North America 1-888-342-0131
United Kingdom +44-0800-051-3311
Latin America +52-55-8526-2122
Rest of the World +1 416-363-5252
Contact
TouchBistro customer support representative wearing a headset and smiling